Monday, 25 March 2013

Changing the ‘View TM article by anonymous users’ status via GitHub

From the 3.3. release of TeamMentor (TM) it is now possible to change configuration settings of live servers directly from GitHub.

For example I just published a QA version of the https://services.teammentor.net site on Azure’s https://tm-services.azurewebsites.net

Here is what https://services.teammentor.net  (on version 3.2.3) looks like:

image

Here is what https://tm-services.azurewebsites.net (on version 3.3 RC4) looks like:

image

Can you spot the difference?

Here is the file (on GitHub) that controls if Anonymous users should be able to see TM’s articles:

image

So the solution is to edit this file (in GitHub):

image

change that value to true:

image

Commit that change in GitHub’s UI:

image

With this commit being now part of this repository:

image

Next we go into the new Tbot interface (https://tm-services.azurewebsites.net/tbot ), which requires admin privs:

image

After login , open the ‘Reload Server Objects’ page

image

And click on the Reload UserData (and Git Pull and Push) button

image

which when executed:

image

will have updated the local TMConfig.config file:

image

And if we logout, we will see the expected behavior:

image

Finally, if we look at GitHub’s commit history, we will see the commit we did in GitHub nicely merged with the commits that happened at the live server

image

Here is the GitHub's Network Graph of this repositry, which shows both types of commits (the ones performed at at the live server vs the one at GitHub)

image
Post a Comment